Yang and Yantes Win Inaugural NRSM Student Leadership Award

May 12, 2022

NRSM is proud to announce that our inaugural NRSM Student Leader Award recipients are Anna Yang and Austin Yantes, co-presidents of NRAGS. Since taking over leadership of NRAGS, Anna and Austin have succeeded in creating an environment where any students in the natural resources feel welcome and included. Both Anna and Austin have fostered community and brought graduate students together despite the barriers and challenges of the pandemic. They have made student’s lives better and have permanently improved our academic community, all while making important ecological discoveries and teaching many undergraduates about the wonders of the natural world. Austin is a one-of-a-kind leader and friend who recognizes the importance of a strong, welcoming graduate community. Anna leads with kindness and positivity, balancing differing viewpoints with composure and grace.